2013 In Review

For all the background of my annual lists, see last year’s post, 2012: The Year That Was.

2013 was like the theme song from “The Facts of Life.” So here’s the good and the bad from the last year, all mixed together.

Best Books I Read in 2013

  • Joyland by Stephen King
  • Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH by Robert C. O’Brien
  • The Short Stories of Ernest Hemingway by Ernest Hemingway
  • For the Win by Cory Doctorow
  • In the Lake of the Woods by Tim O’Brien

I read other books too, but these were my favorites of the year. Also, since I started a PhD program in the fall, I read a number of articles that were also pretty good. (If you’d like a list of those, just email me and I’ll be glad to send you the “best of the best”).

Favorite Poem (Not Published in 2013): “Theme for English B” by Langston Hughes
Best Movies I Watched in 2013

  • This is the End
  • White House Down (cheesy good)
  • 12 Years a Slave
  • World War Z

Songs I Listened to in 2013

  • “Shout at the Devil” by Motley Crue
  • “Blurred Lines” by Alan Thicke (but with shame)
  • “Thrift Shop” by Macklemore
  • “Heaven Nor Hell” by Volbeat
  • “Let Her Go” by Passenger

Good and Bad Moments of 2013

  • RIP Granny D and Uncle John
  • Running a bunch of 5ks in the spring/early summer
  • Our son’s first birthday! (A trip to the zoo…)
  • Our son’s first hospital stay…which lasted a week
  • Our son’s second hospital stay…which fortunately only lasted a night (but what a night it was)
  • Completing my MS degree
  • SHU’s In Your Write Mind retreat in June
  • Gettysburg for a late-summer getaway with Natalie and Wolfe
  • Lots of summer time hijinks with my wife and son
  • Running the Hershey half-marathon
  • RIP Albert the cat
  • Getting back to Krav Maga training
  • Wolfe started rolling…then one-legged scooting…then walking…and now he’s working on jumping
  • Our son also learned a ton of new words this year, including “ice cream,” “pizza,” “kitty cat,” “baaaaaa,” “steps,” “outside” and more
  • Lots of new teeth (for the kid, not for me)
  • Teaching Wolfe to growl like a caveman and howl like a wolf
  • Wolfe dances!
  • Starting a PhD program
  • Talking nerdy learning theories with Natalie
  • And many more that I will be glad to share (just ask)

That’s about it for me…I hope you have a great 2014. I’m hoping to have fewer prostate exams in the new year (or at least only get them from licensed physicians). Excelsior!

One comment

  1. […] all the background of my annual lists, see my previous new year posts–2013 In Review and 2012: The Year That […]

Unleash Your Own Crankiness

