A Few Favorite Things

My son’s first birthday is a month away and I don’t know what to get him. I want something memorable, environmentally responsible, eclectic, fun and most of all, affordable.

I know some of his favorite things:

  • Binkies
  • Cardboard boxes
  • Cat collars with a bell on them
  • Sweet potatoes (although he calls them “yams”)
  • Earrings, but only when they’re worn by other people
  • Yogurt

If I wrap him up some sweet potatoes, people will look at me like I’m crazy. If I wrap him up a human ear with an earring in it, then I am crazy. So what am I supposed to do?

I can give him money, but he’ll just try to eat it, and that’s really dirty. I considered a bespoke suit, but they run in the thousands of dollars and at the rate he’s growing, it won’t last long.

Maybe a climbing apparatus to help him up the stairs? A jiu jitsu gi for him to wear when we roll? (He’s been borrowing mine but it runs big on him.) A nice Groupon for a local restaurant? Perhaps a real stuffed animal–we have one cat, Eliot, whom I’ve been looking to get rid of for a while, and this could be a win-win.

Help me out here. What was the best gift you got at your first birthday?

2 comments

  1. Chris Edison · · Reply

    Cardboard boxes make great kids’ gifts. And books — you can never have too many books.

  2. You don’t need to get him anything! By the time you plan and pay for the party and other people get him gifts, he won’t ever know! 🙂

Unleash Your Own Crankiness

