2012: The Year That Was

I started doing annual updates on MySpace…back when people still used MySpace. Then I used Notes on Facebook. Now I guess I can post this to my blog. I know there has to be at least one person out there whose year wouldn’t be complete without my ruminations. So here it is, you!

2012 was a pretty good year, personally. Nationally and globally–maybe not as much. And really, there was some good and some bad, even for me. But having little guy show up in May really colored the year happy for me.
Below are my “best of” lists for 2012
Best Books I Read in 2012

  • 11/22/63 by Stephen King
  • The House of Mirth by Edith Wharton
  • Every Day by David Levithan
  • Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder
  • Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn (technically, I’m still reading this one, but I’m almost done and it’s great!)
  • Hazard Yet Forward by a bunch of great writers

For a complete list of books I read (there may be some missing, but I also didn’t read as many books as I wanted to), click here.

Favorite Poem (Not Published in 2012)

Ulysses” by Alfred, Lord Tennyson

Best Movies I Watched in 2012

We didn’t watch a lot of movies in 2012. Best? Eh. Here are some that I remember, at least:

  • 21 Jump Street
  • The Grey
  • The Dark Knight Rises
  • The Hunger Games
  • The Five Year Engagement* Probably my favorite, mostly because it’s the only one with a Motley Crue sweater in it

Songs I Listened to in 2012

  • “Somebody That I Used To Know” by Gotye (but check out Walk Off the Earth’s cover!)
  • “Love Bites (And So Do I)” by Halestorm
  • “Little Talks” by Of Monsters and Men
  • “Some Nights” and “We Are Young” by fun.
  • “Hey Ho” by Lumineers
  • “Shout at the Devil” by Motley Crue
  • “Rich Girl” by Lake Street Dive

Good and Bad Moments of 2012

  • Getting a kick in the earball from Wolfe, sometime in January
  • Gettysburg for President’s Day with Natalie Ryan Wolfe Duvall, where we survived the ghost hunters
  • My first ever 10k in April–bad moment, because I got some sort of stomach virus and couldn’t compete
  • Seems like something happened in May…what was it…oh, Wolfe was born!
  • Completing the requirements for my teaching certification in June. In my 2011 wrap-up, I had this to say: “I have nearly achieved the requirements to be a certified teacher. How will this change my life? Probably not at all.” Prescient as always.
  • SHU reunion in June, which was also Wolfe’s first road trip!
  • Watching the 2012 Olympics despite all the Facebook and news spoilers
  • Lots of summer time cuddles with my son
  • About a bajillion late night summer walks with my wife and my son
  • Running my fastest half marathon ever, right after Dog Con!
  • Training in Brazilian jiu-jitsu (although not as often as I would have liked)
  • Running my first ever 10k in November and placing 3rd in my age group–I got a turkey-shaped medal
  • Turkey Trot 5k where I finished in just over 21 minutes
  • Thanksgiving trip with my wife and son
  • Seeing Chun Lee (the cat) up and feeling his oats today, after nearly leaving us in November 2011
  • Hearing Wolfe’s first words, seeing his first smile, watching him sit up for the first time, and a million other firsts…we still have his belly button stump somewhere!
  • Writing almost every day (took some time off in early May) and having one of my most productive writing years in recent memory
  • Plus many more that I’m sure I’m forgetting
4 comments

  1. Hey, I only read this blog for the crankiness. Where’s that?

  2. Yes, you definitely had a good year! I hope this year brings a lot of “firsts” for you too.

  3. […] For all the background of my annual lists, see last year’s post, 2012: The Year That Was. […]

  4. […] For all the background of my annual lists, see my previous new year posts–2013 In Review and 2012: The Year That Was. […]

Unleash Your Own Crankiness

