Flexible Spending

Since I am a part-time teacher, most days I go pick my son up from daycare in the early afternoon and hang out with him until Mom gets home or I can trade off with her after she gets off work and I go to one of my other duties. Today, though, our schedules overlapped and I ended up with two hours in the afternoon where I needed something to do. So decided to fill out our flexible spending account (FSA) claims.

Big mistake. First of all, there is a fair amount of paperwork involved. Then, once I had it all filled out, I realized we overestimated the amount of out-of-pocket expenses we’d have this year, to the tune of several hundred bucks. The thing about FSA is if you don’t use it, you lose it. We have until December 31 to spend that dough.

I’m thinking little guy will be getting a stocking full of Boudreaux’s Butt Paste and unwrapping several bottles of gripe water and Children’s Tylenol. But since some of that stuff expires within five years, we’re going to have to find other ways to leverage this spending. The grandparents might like some Sudafed. For the nephews, I’m thinking Benadryl and calamine lotion. So if you’re on our Xmas list, don’t be surprised if you get some adult diapers or hemorrhoid cream. It’s going to be our healthiest holiday yet.

Unleash Your Own Crankiness

