Learning to Drive

I recently read an article about how California has legalized self-driving cars, the second state to do so (Nevada also allows self-driving cars). I admit it’s pretty cool technology (here’s a video by one of the guys who’s been helping develop it). At the same time, I’m going to be a little cranky if I don’t get to teach my son how to drive because the car knows how to drive itself.

I remember going out with my mom for my early driver’s lessons. There was a lot of screaming, a few tears, and some horn honking. Then I started the car.

So maybe I’ll be crankier if I do have to teach Wolfe to drive, but I’d still like to do it. On the other hand, perhaps I’d better stay up to date on my computer programming skills. The drag races of the future may be done with a keyboard and mouse instead of with a souped-up engine, split-second reflexes, and an iron will.

Of course, by then we’ll probably be using some kind of computer/mind interface, instead of a keyboard and mouse. Ah, how Wolfey will laugh when I tell him about the blue screen of death.

I guess all parents have to face things that have changed since their childhood. For now, I don’t have to worry about it. Wolfe still thinks the airplane game (where I lift him up in the air…and then bring him back down…and then lift him up in the air) is the most fun and funniest thing he’s ever seen in his five long months on this earth. So if we can raise him right, not learning how to drive might not be such a big deal after all. I’ll just have to make sure I can still lift him up in the air when he’s 16.

One comment

  1. You might be getting a bit to crazy with your predictions. We don’t even have fully-functional hoverboards yet.

Unleash Your Own Crankiness

