No Wedgies

I consider myself a fairly thoughtful guy of at least average intelligence. So why do I think it’s the funniest thing ever when my son snarts (sneezes and farts)?

More importantly, what am I supposed to do in the future when my son thinks things like this are funny and I’m supposed to tell him they’re not? How do I handle it when he gets in trouble at school for making fart noises or poop jokes?

I guess I’ll let my wife handle it, because I don’t want to be hypocritical. And while I hope he’ll grow out of it, I don’t know that he will.

About a year ago, I started training in Brazilian jiu jitsu. Recently I was perusing local BJJ tournaments (just out of curiosity–my limited training schedule doesn’t have me in any position to compete right now). The rules are pretty straightforward, but there were two specific illegal moves listed that gave me pause. One was “covered wagons,” which means trying to give your opponent a wedgie. The other was “oil checks,” which is pretty much what it sounds like.

If these have to be specified as illegal in tournaments for grown men, what are the chances Wolfe will never encounter the dreaded wedgie or cup o’cheese? Not good. I just hope he figures it out by the time he’s 30.

One comment

  1. fart jokes never go out of style.

Unleash Your Own Crankiness

