Exercising

I’ve been running a lot lately to train for a half marathon in October. In the meantime, our son was diagnosed with torticollis and now has his own regimen of exercises we have to do every day. We are exercising fiends!

The good news is, the prognosis for a little guy with torticollis is pretty good. We just have to get his neck muscles strengthened and straightened out and he should be ok. The prognosis for his dad? Not so great. I only have so many good days of exercising left in me. It makes me cranky, because I love to exercise, but as I get older (I’m 35!) I just keep racking up the injuries. I’m basically to the point where the only exercise I can do without pain is walking, even though I still love exercising and I still do it.

So, when I hook Wolfe up to his complicated system of ropes and pulleys, I have to live vicariously through him. He laughs and giggles the whole time. Exercise is still a game to him, and I hope it stays that way. I was a late bloomer in the exercise department, and a lot of it had to do with the fact that as a fat kid with undiagnosed sports-induced asthma, exercise was work for me. It also didn’t help that I always felt like…well, a fat kid who couldn’t breathe while I was exercising. It was only after high school that I started to enjoy exercise.

My biggest fear is that I’m going to try to live too vicariously through Wolfe. I want him to be healthy and to get plenty of exercise, but I don’t want to be a dad who forces my son to do and play every sport imaginable. I hope he will find something athletic that he likes to do, because I think it builds a lot more than just good health. The camaraderie of a team, the challenge of competition, handling winning (and losing) gracefully–these are all benefits.

Like I said, I’ll be happy if he finds something athletic to do. At the same time, if he just wants to play chess, I’ll have to be ok with that…but I’ll be less cranky if it’s chess boxing.

 

2 comments

  1. Chess boxing is awesome!!

  2. […] first, a little background. A while ago I posted about how our son was diagnosed with (relatively) mild torticollis. The physical therapy exercises have been progressing well, to the point where the PT told us we […]

Unleash Your Own Crankiness

