Running Behind

I’m training for a half marathon that I’ll be running next month. (And by training, I mean carb loading like crazy by eating as much pizza as I can.) The only thing I don’t like, besides the running, is not being able to take little guy along with me.

This is probably why I had a dream last night. In the dream, I was competing in a women-only running event. It was just a short sprint, but I had my son with me. I was worried about protecting his head, so I got to the front before it started so I wouldn’t get jostled. When they started us off, I was amazed to see I was in the lead, even though I had to worry about my precious cargo. The best part was that at the finish line, there was a sign that said the winner got 90% of the entry fees. When I won, though, they didn’t want to pay me because I was a man and it was a women-only race. I argued that they shouldn’t have let me register, and that carrying my son leveled the playing field, but to no avail.

So here’s what I learned:

  • I have some unrealistic gender stereotypes in my dreams.
  • I am incredibly fast (again, in my dreams).
  • Dreaming about running doesn’t take the place of your 11 mile run (trot, in my case) for the week.
2 comments

  1. Haha! Brilliant!

  2. Dreams either tell us everything or nothing. That is your lesson for today, Grasshopper. 🙂

Unleash Your Own Crankiness

