Great Dads Are Fictional

One post about Father’s Day just wasn’t enough…so I’m making this Father’s Week. (I know, it’s very conceited and self-centered of me–but it helps me to be less cranky.)

I ran across an article by Gayle Falkenthal for Communities at WashingtonTimes.com about the top ten TV mold-breaking dads, and I noticed something–these guys are all pretty cranky. So cranky, in fact, that they make me look like Andy Griffith by comparison.

I already know who wins my vote: Frank Costanza from Seinfeld. When he used tough love to pit his son George against Lloyd Braun in a sales competition–well, let’s just say I learned a lot about being a dad from watching that show. Almost everything I know, in fact. I can’t wait until Festivus. It will be years before Wolfe is strong enough to pin me.

So, what do you think? Vote for your favorite TV dad…or add a comment with your favorite fictional dad (TV, movies, books, plays–they’re all game).

3 comments

  1. Serenity Now!

  2. The “other” votes were:
    Bill Cosby
    Mike Brady
    Atticus Finch
    Don Draper-Mad Men

  3. […] around Father’s Day, I posted about the best fictional fathers. Most of us would admit that at least some of our ideas about good/bad dads have come from books […]

Unleash Your Own Crankiness

